dst banner

Screen Shot 2019-06-05 at 8.28.55 PM


National History:

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated was founded on Monday, January 13, 1913 by 22 college-educated women on the campus of Howard University. These women envisioned an organization of college-educated women who believe in serious and strong community endeavors through the eyes of change. These women wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence and to provide public service with a primary focus on the Black community. 

The first public act performed by the 22 Founders of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc, was their participation in the Women’s Suffrage March in Washington, D.C., March 1913.

Chapter History:

Alpha Omicron Chapter was chartered at the University of Washington on April 17, 1933, by eight collegiate women, one of which was a founding member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, Soror Bertha Pitts Campbell.

The Alpha Omicron Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was the first Black Greek Letter Organization in the Pacific-Northwest.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

National Website: